Club History 

The following is a shortened version of the club’s history.

A comprehensive account of the club and its fortunes can be found via the following the link:


Formed from a junior club, known as the Starlights, Wodonga Football Club first played in the early 1890’s. Progressing through local associations Wodonga became a powerhouse in the Chiltern and District Association, winning the Premiership in 1935 and thus enabling entry in the Ovens and Murray League in 1936.

It was in 1949 that Wodonga was first call the “Bulldogs”.

Since joining the Ovens and Murray League the club has enjoyed seven premierships, has produced seven Morris Medallists from its ranks and boasts a list of brilliant footballers who have been awarded the prestigious title of senior Best and Fairest of the club (Ted West Memorial Award).

Wodonga won its first Ovens and Murray premiership in 1967 under the leadership of ex-Collingwood player Mick Bone he took them on to the 1969 premiership and was unlucky not to have won a third flag.

The club since then has won premierships under David McLeish, Jeff Gieschen, Ernerst Whitehead and Richard Bence.

The club has played in the finals 33 of the 75 years. This includes 20 grand final appearances for seven senior premiership flags.

Our netball club entered the Ovens & Murray NL in 1993, with our inaugural president being Jo Whitehead.

We have won two Senior netball premierships and two senior OMN league Best & Fairest awards – the Toni Wilson Medal.